A certificate of title bond cost
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles requires anyone without adequate proof of ownership of their motor vehicle to post a surety bond to obtain a certificate of title. The bond must be posted in an amount equal to exactly 1.5 times the appraised value of the vehicle.Applicants must verify their required bond amount with the state prior to bonding.
We offers these 3-year bonds for different prices depending on the required bond amount. Bond amounts greater than $25,000 are subject to underwriting consideration, while bonds in amounts less than $25,000 can be issued instantly without a credit check.
*The bond premium rate quotes provided to you through this website are for pricing comparisons and quotation estimate purposes only. The bond rate quotes provided are based on general assumptions that may or may not be applicable to you and are subject to change at any time. These rate quotes do not constitute an offer of insurance, nor is any contract, agreement, or bond coverage implied, formed or bound by the provision of rate quotes. Bondability, final bond premium rate quotes and an offer of insurance, if any, will be determined by the insurance company providing your bond. You must contact us directly to obtain a quote for binding purposes.
Why this bond
By posting a certificate of title bond in Alaska, a principal (vehicle owner) states:
- that he or she is the true owner of the vehicle
- that there is no defect in or undisclosed security interest on the title of the vehicle
- that any former owner, second party or subsequent purchaser of the vehicle will be protected from financial loss caused by the issuance of the certificate of title
Certificate of title bonds in Alaska remain valid for 3 years from the date of issuance unless extended under the provisions of AS 28.10.216 (c).The vehicle’s license plate number, state, serial number, year, make, model, body style and color must be listed on the surety bond form.
Apply for your surety bond
Get a FREE Alaska Vehicle title Bond Quote Today! Click here to begin
- State of Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles No Proof or Inadequate Proof of Ownership
- Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles Title (Ownership) Information
- Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles DMV Forms
- Alaska Statutes § 28.10.216.:Inadequate evidence of ownership.