Notary bond cost
The West Virginia Secretary of State requires notary public’s to post $1,000 surety bonds.We can issues these 5-year bonds instantly without a credit check! Notary bonds with Errors and Omissions Insurance will cost just $35.
Why this bond
On July 1, 2014, West Virginia began requiring notaries in the state to become bonded.By posting a notary bond, the principal (notary) guarantees that he or she will faithfully and honestly perform the duties of the office and pay over all money, as required by law, that might come into his or her possession while on the job.
West Virginia notary bonds run continuously from the effective date for the full length of the 5-year term.A notary public’s signature is required on the bond form to acknowledge the agreement between the surety and the principal.
As mentioned above, the revised West Virginia notary laws became effective on July 1, 2014. The major changes under West Virginia Code 39-4 (Revised Uniform Law On Notarial Acts) include:
- reduces a notary’s commission from 10 years to 5 years
- requires a $1,000 surety bond or its equivalent in professional insurance
- raises the amount a notary can charge for services from $2 to $5
- allows for the notarization of electronic documents (e-notarization)
Become a notary public
In addition to posting a surety bond, potential West Virginia notary publics must meet the following requirements to get licensed:
- be at least 18 years of age
- be a resident of the United States
- be a resident of West Virginia or a resident of another state who works at an office within West Virginia
- be able to read and write in English
- have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- not be disqualified to receive a commission pursuant to West Virginia Code 39-4-21
Apply for your surety bond
Get a FREE West Virginia Notary Bond Quote Today! Click here to begin