Mortgage lender bond cost
The Department of Consumer Credit requires all mortgage lenders in Oklahoma to post $100,000 surety bonds. To underwrite this bond, surety underwriting companies require current business financials and a personal financial statement. The exact price you’ll pay for your Oklahoma surety bond is based on a review of your personal credit report.
Don’t struggle to calculate your bond cost. Simply contact one of our surety specialists to receive a personalized, complimentary bond quote within 1 business day of applying. Give us a call at 888.610.4474 or submit a bond request to begin our fast and easy bonding process.
Why this bond
Oklahoma mortgage lender bonds ensure that if consumers are wronged by the principal (mortgage lender) during a mortgage transaction, they have a safeguard from unprofessional business practices and can be compensated for any financial losses. Unethical acts covered by this bond include, but are not limited to:
- defrauding or misleading borrowers and lenders
- obtaining property by fraud or misrepresentation
- failing to disclose information required by state law, such as annual interest rate percentages
- advertising a product at a low price when it is not available for sale to entice customers to buy a more expensive product, otherwise known as “bait and switch” advertising
- collecting or charging any prohibited fees
- and more
If the principal (mortgage lender) violates the terms of his or her bond agreement and consumers are harmed as a result, the surety will cover damages up to the full bond amount. The principal must reimburse the surety for any damages paid out.Our team of experts is dedicated to getting you bonded quickly, easily and accurately.
Mortgage lender bond details
There is no specific surety bond form for Oklahoma mortgage lender license bonds. Instead, our team of experts has been instructed to use Oklahoma’s generic license and permit bond form when processing your bonding request. We have this form on file so that we can get you bonded quickly and easily.
Become a mortgage lender
To become a licensed mortgage lender in Oklahoma, applicants must fulfill all of the licensing requirements listed on the NMLS Resource Center website.
The license remains valid for 1 year, beginning on January 1. The applicant can renew the license by submitting renewal documentation through NMLS prior to December 1 of each year.
The approval process allows this license to be issued within 60 days after the complete application and all fees are received.Take the first step toward becoming licensed by purchasing the Oklahoma surety bond you need!
Apply for your surety bond
Get a FREE Oklahoma Mortgage Lender Bond Quote Today! Click here to begin