Auto dealer bond cost
The Alaska Commissioner of Administration requires auto dealers to post $50,000 surety bonds. We can also offers these bonds for those who sell only motorcycles, in which case a $25,000 bond is required.
These bonds are subject to underwriting, so the price you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report. However, qualified applicants could pay as little as 1% of the total bond amount! Don’t let less-than-stellar credit stop you from purchasing the surety bond you need. We can offers an exclusive bad credit bonding program through which we approve 99% of all applicants for the bonds they need quickly, easily and accurately.
*The bond premium rate quotes provided to you through this website are for pricing comparisons and quotation estimate purposes only. The bond rate quotes provided are based on general assumptions that may or may not be applicable to you and are subject to change at any time. These rate quotes do not constitute an offer of insurance, nor is any contract, agreement, or bond coverage implied, formed or bound by the provision of rate quotes. Bondability, final bond premium rate quotes and an offer of insurance, if any, will be determined by the insurance company providing your bond. You must contact us directly to obtain a quote for binding purposes.
Why this bond
By purchasing an auto dealer bond in Alaska, principals (motor vehicle dealers) pledge to refrain from committing fraud or making fraudulent representations while on the job. Specifically, the bond protects any person who suffers loss or damage as a result of the principal’s unlawful business practices and violation(s) of the provisions of AS 08.66 up to the full amount of the bond. The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
Alaska motor vehicle dealer bonds remain in full force and effect unless canceled by the surety. The surety can cancel the bond by submitting written notice of cancellation to the Commissioner at the Division of Motor Vehicles in Anchorage, Alaska.A notary public must acknowledge the surety bond form.
Become a motor vehicle dealer
To register as an auto dealer or buyer’s agent in Alaska, applicants must submit the following:
- an original, notarized surety bond in the proper amount
- an Application for Registration as a dealer in motor vehicles or buyer’s agent
- the $50 registration fee
Every 2 years, the dealer or buyer’s agent will be sent a letter and appropriate enclosures for renewal for the following 2-year period. This renewal letter is a courtesy and a dealer’s or a buyer’s agent’s timely renewal should not be based upon receipt of this letter.
Take the first step toward becoming licensed in Alaska by purchasing the auto dealer bond you need quickly, easily and accurately.
Apply for your surety bond
Get a FREE Alaska auto dealer bond Quote Today! Click here to begin
- State of Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles Dealer or Buyer’s Agent Information
- State of Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles Motor Vehicle Dealer and Fleet Information
- Alaska Legal Resource Center Alaska Statutes Chapter 66. Motor Vehicle Dealers and Buyer’s Agents