Yacht and ship salesperson/broker bond cost
The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation requires yacht and ship salespersons to post $10,000 surety bonds. Surety Bonds issues these 2-year bonds instantly for just $175! There’s no credit check required, so everyone pays the same low, flat rate.
The Department of Business and Professional regulation also requires yacht and ship brokers in the state to be bonded for $25,000. These 2-year bonds are subject to underwriting, so the amount you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report. Applicants with strong financial credentials could qualify to pay as low as 1% of the bond amount, or just $250! Bad credit? Don’t worry! Let us help you get the surety bond you need.
Why this bond
Florida yacht and ship salesperson or broker bonds ensure that principals (salespersons/brokers) comply with all provisions of the Yacht and Ship Brokers’ Act and all rules and regulations made by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Florida Land Sales, Condominiums, Mobile Homes, Section of General Regulation.
Specifically, the bond guarantees that brokers and salespersons will faithfully apply all funds given to them by consumers. If the principal or any of his or her employees or agents fail to adhere to these terms, the bond protects consumers from financial loss up to the full bond amount.
Yacht and ship salesperson/broker bond details
Yacht and ship salesperson or broker bonds in Florida remain valid for the principal’s 2-year licensing period. A new bond or proper continuation certificate must be issued at the beginning of each license period. The surety can cancel the bond at any time by giving written notice of cancellation to the division 30 days prior to the effective termination date.
If the surety cancels the bond, the salesperson’s/broker’s license is automatically suspended until he or she files a new surety bond. Applicants must indicate the appropriate license type (salesperson or broker) on the bond form.
Become a yacht and ship salesperson or broker
To become a licensed yacht and ship salesperson or broker in Florida, applicants must submit the following materials:
- Surety bond in the proper amount
- Completed application
- Check or money order for $551 application fee payable to DBPR – Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares, and Mobile Homes
- Completed fingerprint card
- Personal background check
- And more
Complete licensing information can be accessed from the Additional information section of this page. Begin the licensing process by purchasing the surety bond you need!
Apply for your surety bond
Get a FREE Yacht and Ship Salesperson/Broker Bond Quote Today! Click here to begin
- Application for a Yacht and Ship Employing Broker, Broker or Salesperson’s License
- Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares and Mobile Homes Yacht and Ship Forms
- Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares and Mobile Homes Yacht and Ship Brokers: Licensing and Enforcement
- Florida Statutes Title 24 Chapter 326 Yacht and Ship Brokers