Pawnbroker bond cost
The Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection requires secondhand dealers, pawnbrokers and precious metals and stones dealers to post $10,000 surety bonds to legally work within the state. Surety Bonds issues these bonds instantly for just $100. No credit check is required, so everyone pays the same low, flat rate.
Why this bond
By posting a Connecticut secondhand dealer’s surety bond, principals (secondhand dealers/pawnbrokers) pledge to conduct business in compliance with the state and federal laws and regulations relating to the business. Specifically, the bond protects any person who suffers loss as a result of the dealer’s unlawful business practices.
Secondhand dealer bond details
Secondhand dealer bonds in Connecticut remain in full force and effect unless canceled or violated. The surety can cancel the bond by giving 30 days’ written notice of cancellation via registered or certified mail to the principal and to the Commissioner of the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection.
Become a secondhand dealer, pawnbroker or precious metals and stones dealer
To become a licensed secondhand dealer, pawnbroker or precious metals and stones dealer in Connecticut, applicants must:
- Complete the Application for Licensing under C.G.S. Chapter 409 (DPS-403-C)
- Complete the appropriate Advisement of Requirements form(s) (DPS-404-C1, DPS-405-C1 and DPS-405-C) for each license being applied for
- Have all forms notarized
- Submit to a state and national criminal history check
- Provide required fingerprints
- Pay the required licensing and background check fees
- And more
Complete licensing information can be accessed via the Important Links section of this page. Click start the licensing process to become a secondhand dealer in Connecticut by purchasing the surety bond you need for just $100!
Apply for your surety bond
Get a FREE Secondhand Dealer Bond Quote Today! Click here to begin
- Administrative Procedures for Persons Seeking Pawnbroker, Secondhand Dealer and Precious Metals and Stones Dealers Licensing
- State of Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection Advisement of Secondhand Dealer Requirements
- State of Connecticut Substitute House Bill No. 5795 Public Act No. 11-100